Pack Like You Mean It

The big trip is two days away. It’s time to start packing! I’m not an over-packer, per se, but I always seem to end up with a few unworn shirts happily resting in my suitcase by the end of the trip. I can also be…how shall I put this…a bit absentminded. I’ll pack contact lenses and contact solution, but forget the case. Bring appropriate shoes, but no socks. Sigh.

I’ve found it helpful to write down a master list of everything I’ll need on a trip, divided into sections: clothes, toiletries, medicine, etc. It’s also helpful for me to visualize my daily routine as I write items down. That way, I’m less prone to forgetting an essential item. Every time I buy a cheap $5 hairbrush when abroad, a little part of my budget travel soul dies inside. My trip to Ireland will be 13 days total. I salute you men, with your (usual) lack of jewelry & moisturizers, shoes for all occasions, and grab-pants-and-go attitudes. Without further ado, here is my list.

Clothing

  • 1 jacket (fleece, warm yet breathable)
  • 1 rain shell (essential!)
  • Leggings & shirt (plane travel)
  • 2 pants
  • 2 skirts
  • 2 tights
  • 6 shirts
  • 1-2 sweaters
  • Bunch of socks (Including wool socks. It will be cold and wet.)
  • Undisclosed undergarments (Use your imaginations, kids).
  • 2 scarves (I’m addicted to scarves).
  • Pajama shirt & bottom

Shoes:  The weather will be in the 40s, overcast, and rainy. I’m not a fancy shoe gal. Hence, I’m bringing:

  • Rain boots
  • Tall boots
  • Short boots (It’s all about the boots).

Toiletries

  • Shampoo
  • Conditioner
  • Soap (& soap case)
  • Toothbrush (& case)
  • Toothpaste
  • Floss
  • Face wash
  • Moisturizer
  • Other lotion (winter is not kind to my skin)
  • Eye care: contact lens case, solution, glasses, glasses case.
  • Hairbrush

Makeup & Jewelry: If you can travel light with this, it’s a good idea. I bring the basics:

  • Blush & brush
  • Makeup
  • Mascara
  • Eyeliner
  • Lip balm (Bert’s Bees!!!!!!!!!)
  • 2 earrings
  • 2 necklaces (I’m not a bracelet/ring gal).
  • *Hair elastics (I am recently short-haired, so won’t be needing these! However, this used to be a travel essential).

Medicine: If there’s one thing you do NOT want to forget, it’s your medicine!

  • Advil (a big dose of this, combined with my meds, can help lessen a migraine headache for me. Also, I guarantee someone else you encounter will have cramps/splitting headache/other aches and will ask you for ibuprofen).
  • Migraine medications

Electronics

  • iPhone & charger (planning to use iPhone as camera, recorder, & for email as necessary)
  • Irish mobile & charger (will top up for 20 euro and use as phone; simpler than switching the iPhone over for a short length of time)
  • Plug converter
  • Headphones

Essentials: This is up there with medications. You CANNOT forget these puppies.

  • Passport
  • Plane tickets/boarding pass
  • Cash & bank card
  • Snacks. Tons of snacks. SO many snacks. Snacks ward off hanger and headaches.
  • Earplanes (earplug-like things that help ears adjust to pressure changes because my ears are delicate flowers)

Optional

  • Nail clipper (only in your checked bag, of course)
  • iPod (I’ll use my phone)
  • Towels (if you’re not sure your destination provides them)
  • Reusable water bottle
  • Ear plugs (for the plane and if your destination has noisy nightlife)

I plan to have one checked bag and one small carry-on bag with my essentials: meds, snacks, passport, instruments, and so on. What are your travel packing tips? Are you an over packer, an under packer, or the rare and beautiful perfect packer? Let me know, and bon voyage!

Leave a Reply

